top of page
  • Tom H

Mere Child | Don't Let Me Go (new single)

Dream pop singer-songwriter Mere Child (a.k.a. Aimee Herbert) releases "Don't Let Me Go," her ethereal and delicately reassuring new single - the first new music from the Brighton-based musician since her beautifully moving cover of Kate Bush's "Under The Ivy" in mid-2021.

Gently shimmering, reverbed guitar notes open "Don't Let Me Go" on a hazy, yet optimistic vibe. Aimee's dreamy vocals emerge like the softly glowing embers of a fading fire, recounting the weight and emotional toll of the day. Alongside musical tones and hues that conjure up Cocteau Twins and This Mortal Coil, the lyrical theme embraces escape in the supportive arms of that special one who eases and erases the weight of the day. "Don't Let Me Go" gradually strengthens to its magnificent sonic peak, with Aimee's vocals soaring to aesthetic levels (listen at the two-minute mark).

"You say it’ll pass with time,

My eyes search yours for a while.

I really hope you’re right,

God I really hope you’re right.

And for now I’ll hold you close,

For now just don't let me go, hold me close."

Regarding the inspiration for "Don't Let Me Go," Aimee tells SoundThread: "I'd been going through a bout of low mood (which happens from time to time). The song is really about how having someone incredible in your life who just gets it, and understands you completely, can get you through anything. That need to feel safe when, for whatever reason, you just don't. Just loved."

The production and atmosphere within "Don't Let Me Go" is gorgeous, incorporating subtle background strings, vocals with the perfect amount of room/reverb, delicate acoustic guitar, and gorgeous melody throughout. Aside from Aimee's own production, the song was mixed and mastered by Julian Tardo at Church Road Studio Ltd in Brighton.

For readers new to the music of Mere Child, it was the release of debut single "Not Good Enough" in 2016 that officially set things in motion for the project. Since then, Mere Child has gone on to release a series of impressive singles over the past several years, including "Jot of Joy" (2016), "Swim" (2018), "Cold Light of Day" (2019) and "Where Are We Now" (2020). In addition, Aimee collaborated with guitarist Ross King in 2018 to create music under the moniker of Morning Myth, which saw the release of the duo's remarkable dream/indie-pop debut album, Glass Sky.

For more information, follow Mere Child on social media (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube) and listen on SoundCloud, Bandcamp, Spotify and Apple Music.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


  • SoundThread Music Blog (Instagram)
  • SoundThread Music Blog (Facebook)
  • SoundThread Music Blog (Twitter)
bottom of page